About Us

The Environmental Sciences program started at TCU in 1969 with the first Bachelor and Master degrees awarded in 1973. Dr. Leo Newland, Professor of Biology and Geology, directed the program from 1973 to 2003. Dr. Michael Slattery assumed directorship of the program on 1 June 2003. At that time, the Institute for Environmental Studies (IES) was formed, a collaboration between departments, institutions, government, and private businesses.

In 2007 the Department of Environmental Science was formed and is now one of the contributing entities to the IES.
The Department is responsible for administering the undergraduate degree and graduate degree programs. In 2009, the new School of Geology, Energy, and the Environment was created. Now, TCU's long standing Geology and Environmental Science Programs have been joined under one School along with the Institute for Environmental Stucies and the Energy Institute. Together our School prepares our students to meet the challenges of an ever changing energy and environmental future.

Many of the photos on this website were taken by students of the department on any number of the field visits and study abroad classes. They appear here with their permission and our thanks.



Photo: Helen Byrd






  Home Faculty/Staff Academics Facilities Research Contact Us